What happens to your social media channels after you die?

Almost like all of your physical possessions are valuable, the digital content you post could also be of use to the online world.You have all the rights to have your privacy protected during and after your lifetime. If you haven’t chosen a legacy contact, your account remains as it is on the social media platform after you die until the website dies. Fortunately, you still have the time to take the necessary steps to decide what happens to your social media accounts after you die.

 

Almost like all of your physical possessions are valuable, the digital content you post could also be of use to the online world. Fortunately, you still have the time to take the necessary steps to decide what happens to your social media accounts after you die. You can say it works like a digital will.


How important is your data on the Internet?

It has become very important to decide how your data is seen on the internet while you’re alive and it becomes even more important what happens to it after you die. If you are someone who run many Facebook pages, online service networks like graphic design services through your Facebook groups, or run a 100k Google Blogger account, you might not want all that content to be misused or deleted after you die?

You can choose what happens before you die

Many social media platforms allow to memorialize your accounts if proven dead through your death certificate provided to them. Yet you can choose, while you are alive, how you want your data to be handled after you die. Facebook, for instance has now an option of choosing a legacy contact that can access your account and share posts or hide previous posts or also request for the account to be disabled. This practice is of enormous use increasingly, as people now pay tribute to their dead one on his/her account after their death while their legacy contact can manage what type of content could be seen by the people on the dead person’s account.

A legacy contact

You have all the rights to have your privacy protected during and after your lifetime. You can even choose not to give sensitive information such as your passwords and secret question’s answers to someone to take care of your account in case you die. A legacy contact is someone you choose to look after your account if it's memorialized. Once your account is memorialized, your legacy contact will have the option to do things like:
Write a pinned post for your profile (example: to share a final message on your behalf or provide information about a memorial service). If your timeline and tagging settings don't allow anyone except yourself to post on your timeline, your legacy contact won't be able to add a pinned post to your profile once it's memorialized.

Your legacy contact could also:

  • Respond to new friend requests (example: old friends or family members who weren't yet on Facebook).
  • Update your profile picture and cover photo.
  • Request the removal of your account.
  • You also have the option to allow your legacy contact to download a copy of what you've shared on Facebook, and we may add additional capabilities for legacy contacts in the future.
  • Your legacy contact can't:
  • Log into your account;
  • Remove or change past posts, photos and other things shared on your timeline;
  • Read your messages;
  • Remove any of your friends or make new friend requests.

If you don’t add a legacy contact, your account remains as it is on the social media platform after you die until the website dies. A friend or relative could request the social media platform to permanently delete your account or memorialize it. And if your account is memorialized once, it makes login disabled forever sealing your account to remain the same for all times to come.

What if you don’t want to choose a legacy contact?

With the advent of growing dependency on technology, we have grown to trust more information with our social media accounts. We all have faced problems when we forget passwords to any such accounts. But it’s a thing of the past with the online software LastPass. It has the tendency to store all your passwords with encryption and salted hashes to ensure complete security on the cloud. You’ll create a strong password for your LastPass account to locally generate a strong encryption key. LastPass will hence secure all your passwords without you having to select a legacy contact. The two factor authentication at the LastPass accounts logins and your main password can be given to a highly trusted colleague or sibling to be able to access passwords to all your accounts in case of your death.

Social Media Accounts – what you can do?

  • Facebook – You can permanently delete the account or memorialize it by appointing a legacy contact;
  • Instagram – It happens the same way as Facebook, giving a restricted access to your legacy contact to delete or memorialize your account;
  • Twitter – Account can be deactivated on request from a family member of deceased with proof of identity;
  • Microsoft – Gives family member access after providing legal proof like a death certificate;
  • LinkedIn/Pinterest – Delete’s account upon being notified about a user’s death with proof of death certificate;
  • Google – You can choose up to 10 people who can get access to your account or delete it after its inactive period set by Google;
  • Publication/Blogposts – For digital assets you can create a Will with the assistance of Miss Legal to give your family access to your data.

Our top-notch lawyers are highly experienced in Miss Legalizing in listening to your legal problems and questions attentively and working 24/7 off-site, online providing you services for your legal solutions anywhere, anytime.

Share this page

Advies nodig over dit onderwerp?

Boek een sessie met Miss Legal

Ask Miss Legal a private question

Comment on this article

You need to be registered or logged in